Home Again

I had an incredible 24 months in Japan on the JET Programme, but I think my last two months will go down as some of my all-time favourites.

…which, I think, is part of the reason why I’m finding it so hard to be home “for good.”

Beautiful Akita

Beautiful Akita

I don’t really have a reason why those last two months were so amazing. It’s not like I had extravagant travel plans (a day-trip to Lake Tazawa, while so much fun!, is not extravagant ;)) and those two months certainly weren’t stress-free (moving suuuucks). But, in those last two months, I checked even more items off my bucket list. I ate all my favourite foods. I got closer to my JET friends and co-workers than ever before. I had incredible last classes with all of my students, whom I miss every single day. I made wonderful memories and left Japan feeling so happy and in love with the country and everyone in it–

–only to come home to the same old, same old.

I thought that I had everything in place for my return home – I’ve been accepted into school, I have a part-time job lined up, I’m back living with my parents – but isn’t that exactly what my life was like two years ago? Did those two years where I had my own apartment, my own car, and a full-time job in a foreign country, even happen??

Don’t get me wrong, my first Tim Horton’s tea tasted like heaven, and no other place in the world does fish & chips with dressing and gravy like Newfoundland, and there are new buildings and businesses open all over the place here to explore, and being with family and friends is nice – but it all feels, blah.

I definitely think that I am experiencing reverse culture shock. Now I just have to figure out how to deal with it.

…in the meantime, I’ve already started daydreaming about my next trip back to Japan. (^^)

One thought on “Home Again

  1. rednissan78 says:

    Hey Christina,
    I love reading your blog, and I`m glad you posted again even though you are back in Canada.

    I have just started my second year on JET, but intend this to be my last year on the program. I am trying to anticipate what kind of reverse culture shock I might have upon returning to the U.S. One thing that I hope will lessen those symptoms is having another dream, and working hard on making it a reality, just as coming to Japan was a dream that spurred me into finally getting my college degree.
    Do you have a new dream?
    Another thing I am working on is a life plan, and life goals. Without these things, we simply drift through life, going where the current takes us.
    Would you be interested in crafting a life plan and life goals, to make you excited and happy now for the life you want now and in the future?
    I hope you conquer your blahs.
    Please keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

