Chocolate Chip Mug Cookie to the Rescue!

Last week was quite the week.

On top of saying “see you” to my friends and family back home, travelling the 29 hours back to my apartment in Japan, dealing with the awful jet lag that said travel has caused (seriously, it’s the worst I’ve ever had!), and getting back to reality after an entire month’s vacation, I also signed my paperwork about recontracting. Even though I knew my decision months in advance, it was still an emotional day for me when I officially placed the paperwork on my JHS Vice Principal’s desk. (No spoilers on my decision yet – my supervisor at the BOE still doesn’t know!)

Needless to say it was a gift from above (or, rather, from Mel!) when I came home from work one afternoon and saw a recipe for a 60-Second Chocolate Chip Mug Cookie on my favourite cooking blog! I really wanted chocolate, but was way too tired to actually bake anything, so this mug cookie was the perfect compromise. Turns out, it wasn’t so much of a compromise as it was me winning at life for once this week. It was perfect! So, for all you JETs out there dealing with “JET lag” (ha ha, see what I did there?), whether it be physical or emotional, or anyone who just wants an instant chocolate chip cookie… you’re welcome. :)

To Japan-ify the recipe, I made the following changes:

-1 tbsp butter = roughly 15 g. The resulting cookie tasted a little too buttery for me, so I might cut that back to 14 or 13 g next time. (Although, I also used butter-flavoured margarine because Japan is having a butter shortage – seriously – so that could be the cause of the too-buttery taste.)
-¼ cup flour = 3 tbsp.
-2 tbsp chocolate chips = 1 tbsp. (Personal preference – I prefer a more-cookie-than-chocolate-chip chocolate chip cookie!)

You can check out the recipe yourself on Mel’s Kitchen Café!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Mug Cookie to the Rescue!

  1. MT says:

    What kind of flour did you use? Whenever I go to the store, there are like 10 different kinds of flour and I don’t know which one to pick…

    • Christina says:

      Hi, MT!
      I usually use cake flour, which has the kanji 薄力小麦粉 (hakuriki komugiko), just because it’s easy for me to find it in my supermarket. I alternate between two brands, Nisshin (日清) and the no-name Top Valu brand. I personally like Nisshin better.
      All-purpose flour is harder for me to find in my small city supermarket, but it has the kanji 中力粉 (chuuriki ko) if you are lucky enough to have it!
      Good luck with your baking! :)

      • Lucy says:

        Thanks! Much appreciated :D Yeah, I can only find that cake flour myself. I tried looking for all-purpose flour and I couldn’t find it, and I live in a relatively decent sized city. But I am super excited to try this today!!

Leave a Reply

