Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015!

I’ve been carrying around a draft version of this post for several weeks. It’s hard to reflect on an entire year when so much has happened to you in it!

From Sapporo to Hiroshima, from Hong Kong to Honolulu, from Sydney to New York City, 2014 was incredible. I travelled around Japan (and around the world!) and learned more than I ever thought I could. I got involved in my schools, I studied Japanese, I learned traditional Japanese dance, I said goodbye to old friends, and I made new friends. Now, I’m home in Newfoundland, surrounded by family, friends, and the peace of my hometown.

Now that I’m home, I’m definitely looking at my life in Japan through rose-coloured glasses. My life there is not perfect, despite how I might come across when telling my Japan stories to my friends and family here. There are things I like and things I don’t like – but isn’t that what life is like anywhere in the world, even my old life here in Newfoundland?!

One thing I’ve been telling everyone, though, is that I have no regrets – and that’s true. I honestly wouldn’t change a thing that happened to me in 2014, or even in the last 17 months since coming on the JET Programme. As corny as it is, this really has been a life changing, once-in-a-lifetime experience, and I’m so thankful to be a part of it.

My friends in Japan have already welcomed 2015, but here at home in Newfoundland, there are still eight hours left to enjoy in 2014. So here’s to the next eight hours and to a wonderful 2015!

Happy New Year!
あけましておめでとう!

Leave a Reply

