One Year

My tenure on the JET Programme came full circle this Wednesday as I found myself standing at Akita Airport waiting to welcome this year’s new crop of JETs to our wonderful prefecture.

Waiting at Akita Airport for the new Group A JET arrivals!

Waiting at Akita Airport for the new Group A JET arrivals!

It was surreal being on this side of the glass doors with all of the senpais and supervisors, waiting anxiously to see the faces of the new ALTs who will become our new friends over the next twelve months. I remembered how I felt on my arrival in Akita one year ago – looking out at the huge crowd of people gathered, nervous about meeting my supervisor and starting my life in Akita, but very excited about the adventure that lay ahead of me.

Today is August 1, which means that it has officially been one year since I left home. This Monday, August 4, will mark my one year Japanniversary. In some ways, I can’t believe it’s been a year already, and in others, I can’t believe it already hasn’t been five!

This past year on the JET Programme has been a whirlwind rollercoaster of emotions. I’m proud of myself for making it through the year (even though there were moments when I honestly thought I wouldn’t), and I’m excited to see what my second year here will bring. If this August will be any indication, it’s going to be a good (and busy) one!

So, here’s to the next twelve months!

Leave a Reply

