Recipe: Pork Barazushi

When I lived at home, I never cooked for myself (unless you count microwaving frozen dinners as cooking). When I came to Japan, I had to cook for myself. Over the past ten months I’ve tried my hand at several recipes, from my favourites that Mom used to make to new Japanese-style meals. I’ve had some really great results and some not-so-great ones, but I’m learning with every recipe that I make.

Today at school, I was on Japanese Cooking 101 trying to find inspiration for supper when I stumbled upon their Barazushi recipe. I thought I would give it a try, but when I got to the supermarket, I decided to change up a few of the ingredients and even add cooked pork instead of the traditional sashimi. The result was delicious, so I wanted to share my recipe with all of you!

*****

Pork Barazushi
(Adapted from http://www.japanesecooking101.com/barazushi/)
Makes 2 servings.

Pork Barazushi

My first (delicious) attempt at Pork Barazushi!

Ingredients

Sushi rice

Vegetables

5 snow peas, blanched
1 cucumber
2-3 large shiitake mushrooms, fresh
1 carrot
½ cup dashi
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tbsp. mirin
2 tsp. sugar

Pork

½ cup dashi
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tbsp. mirin
2 tsp. sugar
160 g thinly-sliced pork

Toppings

Kinshi tamago (thinly sliced egg)

Directions

  1. To make the sushi rice, make 1 cup (uncooked) rice using 1 ¼ cups water in your rice cooker. When finished, add 2 tbsp. of sushi vinegar while the rice is still hot and mix well. Set aside.
  2. Slice the blanched snow peas and cucumber into small, thin pieces. Set aside.
  3. Remove the stems from the shiitake mushrooms. Slice them and the carrot into small, thin pieces.
  4. In a pot, bring 1/2 cup dashi, 1 tbsp. soy sauce, 1 tbsp. mirin, and 2 tsp. sugar to a boil. Add sliced mushrooms and carrot. Cook on medium heat for 5-7 minutes until the vegetables are tender and the liquid has almost evaporated. Set aside to let cool.
  5. Bring a second mixture of dashi, soy sauce, mirin, and sugar to a boil. Add the pork. Cook on medium heat until the pork is cooked through and tender, about 10-15 minutes.
  6. In a large bowl, mix cooked vegetables and pork with sushi rice.
  7. Serve the sushi rice mixture in individual bowls. Add sliced snow peas and cucumber, and top with kinshi tamago. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Recipe: Pork Barazushi

Leave a Reply

