TLT: The Wonders of Japanese Packaging

I did my fair share of internet research before I came to Japan last August, but nowhere did I read anything that could prepare me for Japanese packaging.

First of all, there’s a lot of it. For a country that makes garbage sorting so difficult and that likes to conserve electricity and resources almost to the extreme, it came as a surprise when I bought a box of cookies only to have each cookie individually wrapped. The same goes for candies, chocolates, and any other food you can imagine. On the one hand, a quickly growing pile of wrappers is a great way to stop yourself from binge eating the entire box of cookies in one sitting. On the other hand, when you’re having a bad day and you just want to eat your cookies in peace, that’s a lot of wrappers!

Three cookies, three wrappers… (Source: Creamy Steaks)

However, the Japanese have at least made the wrappers incredibly easy to open. In fact, they’ve made everything easy to open, and I mean everything. Most packages are even labelled with “Open here!” No scissors required, just grab and pull!

open

Quick and easy way to get at my disposable heat packs.

Even CDs are easy to open (and we all know how impossible that plastic is to remove back home)!

IMG_4281

Easy-to-open packaging means I get to start listening to my new Arashi CD much quicker!

 They’ve even found a way to make cardboard shipping boxes easy to open!

IMG_4276

Mind. Blown. (Not to mention the fact that I had this shipped to my local convenience store so I wouldn’t miss/have to reschedule a delivery. Mind doubly blown.)

Remember those awful Campbells aluminum cans that have to be opened with a can opener? Not in Japan – they all have pull-tabs on top!

IMG_4366

My 200yen ($2 CDN) can of tomato soup!

And stickers, pens, gift bags, and all sorts of other stationary are sold in plastic pouches that can be easily resealed.

open2

Easy to open, AND the stationary is incredibly cute! Bonus!

I had another ALT say to me once, “If you can’t open something in Japan, you’re doing it wrong.” Whenever I can’t open something, I reassess the packaging and, sure enough, I’m trying to open it wrong.  I’m just worried that when I go back to Canada, I’ll never be able to open anything ever again (from the bags of chocolate chips I’ve gotten in care packages from home, I already know that I’m losing my touch)!

3 thoughts on “TLT: The Wonders of Japanese Packaging

  1. comptoir quartz ville de Quebec says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this
    one these days.

    • Christina says:

      Thank you so much for your comment! This is a free theme that I customized myself. :)

      I really enjoy writing this blog, so I’m glad that you enjoyed reading it!

  2. online blogging sites says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different website and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look
    forward to looking into your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

