Getting Involved

(Originally written: Friday, October 4, 2013)

Happy 2 month Japanniversary, Group B!

It’s hard to believe that I’ve already been in Japan for two months. Wow, time flies!

I’ve actually been feeling rather Stage 2-y lately, which is really unfortunate. I don’t know if it’s because of the cold that I can feel myself catching, or if I’m just tired (because I am really, really tired. All. The. Time.), or homesickness, or what. All I know is that I’ve definitely been in a slump of some kind for the last week or so.

That being said, I do have a great extra-curricular activity schedule on my plate now that will hopefully help me get out of this funk. On Monday nights, the other ALTs and I take turns hosting potluck + movie nights. So far we’ve watched She’s the Man (while eating Mexican) and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I (while eating Korean). They are definitely something fun to look forward to in helping to combat the Monday Blues!

On Wednesday nights, I do kyudo. For those who don’t know, kyudo is a form of Japanese archery. Directly translated, kyudo (kyuudou) means “way of the bow,” and it is very much about the technique behind drawing the bow and arrow. Considering that the bow is approximately 6.5-7 feet long (not to mention the fact that you are wielding a bow and arrow), it is a very relaxing and calming sport. I have only been to two classes, but I am already really enjoying it! Our teachers are super nice and all of the other archers are very friendly. It’s a great atmosphere!

On Friday nights, I have my Japanese language course, which I have already talked about in previous blogs. I enjoy this class a lot, too, even if it does take a lot of self-convincing for me to get out of my apartment on Friday nights and go to the class. (I’m just soooo tiiiiired.) However, our teacher is really, really nice and the other students in my class are fun to be with. It is a great learning environment and I don’t feel bad for making mistakes.
The class is going to be more and more important for me as I get ready to write my JLPT N4 in December. Yes, I officially registered! I don’t know what I was thinking – a challenge is good, but my kanji reading abilities stink and my vocab knowledge is quite low. I really have to start studying if I want to pass it…!

Saturdays, if things work out, will be my dance day. I know I’m in a funk because I don’t miss dance nearly as much as I thought I would – I’m almost feeling apathetic about going back. I’m hoping that this feeling will pass after my first ballet class tomorrow evening! I also feel like I should try to find somewhere that offers tap classes…

Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays are my “days off” from activities and, for right now, I think I like it that way. We’ll just have to wait and see what the winter brings!

Leave a Reply

