T.G.I.F.

(Originally written: Friday, September 6, 2013)

The definition of a Gaijin Smash: blogging instead of doing actual work at school but, because it’s all in English, no one can read what you’re writing and therefore you look super important typing so quickly on your computer.

Okay, well, maybe that’s not the definition, but that’s the extent of my Gaijin Smashing thus far. Hah.

(Actual definition of a Gaijin Smash: A technique used by foreigners, or gaijin, in Japan in order to impose their will on the Japanese [from Urban Dictionary]).

Today was a great day! I think Fridays are going to be my favourite day of the week. On Fridays, I teach four 3nensei classes (equivalent to Grade 9 in Canada) with an awesome JTE. It’s a busy day, but the JTE is really cooperative and is really fun to work with! Today, at the beginning of each class, we sang One Direction (“What Makes You Beautiful”). It was kind of boring just standing up at the front of the class, so I started to make up a simple hand-dance to the words. I had all of the students laughing at me, and it was so much fun! We learned new grammar points, made references to Japanese pop culture in class, and some students even came up to me after class and wanted to speak with me in English. Yep – definitely a good day. :)

I still haven’t done all of my self-introduction lessons yet. Before coming to Japan, I heard that school schedules change frequently because of tests, special visits by the Boards of Education, and everything else under the sun. I didn’t realize how true that would be! Of course, my schedule has also been interrupted by Orientations, the speech contest, and going to my Elementary School. With all of these factors combined, I’ve only taught my introduction lesson to seven of the 16 classes that I have, despite being in school for two full weeks. There are more school-wide tests coming up in the middle of next week, so I think next week’s classes will be dedicated to review and not my self-introduction, but I’ll get them all done… eventually!

Okay. So. It’s 3:30pm on Friday. I get off in 45 minutes, and then I plan to head home, grab some ramen, and then go to my Japanese language class. I don’t know if it’s culture shock or if it’s just my Introvertness needing to recharge, but I really don’t want to go – I just want to stay in my apartment and have a relaxing evening in. I’ve been so social since arriving in Japan, going out to karaoke, eating out with other JETs, and going to festivals, that I haven’t had a lot of time to myself, which is completely different than how I am back home where I go into Complete Hermit mode all the time and barely leave my house. Tomorrow is the Akita JET Welcome Cabin Party, too, so I need to muster up all of the genki that I can. :/

From here on out, I plan to make Sundays a Me Day. I plan on sleeping in, making a nice breakfast of pancakes (with maple… “type”?… sauce… stuff… I miss Canadian maple syrup!), baking to my heart’s content (this Sunday: sugar cookies!), and then spending my evening listening to a live stream of a Sunday morning traditional Newfoundland music show while drinking from my stash of Tetley Tea. Ahhh~

Yep. Between Fridays and Sundays, I’m sure that I will always have something to look forward to. :)

One thought on “T.G.I.F.

  1. Newton Glowacky says:

    I usually do not write many responses, however i did some searching and wound up here T.G.I.F.
    | Falling for Japan. And I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do
    not mind. Is it just me or does it give the impression like a few of these comments look as
    if they are left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting at other sites,
    I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to
    post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

