Busy, busy, busy

August 21 through September 3 marks two weeks where I was simply too busy to sit at my computer and blog. Here is a recap of some of the things I got up to…

**

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

I saw Mount Chokai for the first time! I didn’t realize how big the mountain was, so I can’t believe that I lived in Yurihonjo for two weeks and hadn’t seen a lick of it! (To be fair, it does disappear with the tiniest bit of cloud cover.)

IMG_0298

Hello, Chokaisan! Nice to finally meet you!

**

Thursday, August 22, 2013

I baked for the first time today! I made tea biscuits in my microwave oven. Delicious taste of home! :)

IMG_0342

Japanese microwaves are… interesting.
Also, tea biscuits are delicious.

**

Friday, August 23, 2013

I took a Japanese class tonight at the cultural centre. I’m looking forward to continuing the lessons throughout the winter – I want my Japanese to improve even more!

**

Saturday, August 24, 2013

A bunch of us ALTs drove to Oomagari to meet up with other ALTs and watch the incredible, stunning Oomagari Fireworks Festival. This was my favourite festival so far! We got there around 5pm. The day show fireworks featured coloured smoke (which was pretty cool!), but the night show blew us away – three solid hours of fireworks, choreographed to music! Some of the displays and designs were incredible. Almost unbelievable. :)

IMG_0402

One of the night fireworks displays!

**

Monday, August 26, 2013

Today was the first day of school after summer vacation! Because all of the students were writing tests, I spent most of the day in the teacher’s room, but it was so nice to feel the energy of a school full of children.

**

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I gave my speech (in Japanese!) at my Welcome Ceremony this morning! And what a welcome ceremony it was – 400+ students sitting in perfectly straight rows and columns, standing and bowing perfectly in sync as if they were robots. How is that even possible?! My speech went really well, so I’m very pleased!

Then it was off to Day 1 of Akita Orientation in Akita City!

IMG_0453

On the drive to Akita City! My prefecture is beautiful. <3

**

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Today brought Day 2 of Akita Orientation and adventures in Akita City – as well as some delicious Indian curry!

IMG_0472

Indian curry and naan – deliciousss

**

Friday, August 30, 2013

I taught my very first classes today! I had four of my 3nensei (Grade 9) classes. My JTE is awesome and they went really well! I was super pleased, although I will definitely be making some adjustments to my lessons for next week.

**

Monday, September 2, 2013

I went to my elementary school for the first time! I spent the day with the Grade 4s, who were absolutely precious and a joy to teach. Definitely a different experience from the 3nensei of my JHS, but still very fun! I can’t wait to go back. :)

**

September 3, 2013

I finished my first English board! Ta-da. :)

IMG_0506

My first English board!

(Yes, I might have told a white lie… or two…)

Today was the first day when I felt really Stage 2-y. I’ve been trying for a few weeks to get everything together to make an Ugly Stick, but unfortunately, Japan isn’t Newfoundland and some things that are a given in NL just can’t be found in Japan. I’m really frustrated with Japan and stressed about my booth and worried for my speech kids and, ARGH. I can’t wait for speech contest to be over.

One thought on “Busy, busy, busy

  1. Nekodomo says:

    Hello fellow ALT! Haha wow I can’t believe I’ve just read all of your posts. Kinda reminds me of my first time in Japan too. So glad you’re enjoying your stay here!

    Do you know that your place, Akita, is famous for its yummy white rice, pure clean water, and beautiful girls? They have a funny story about that:

    “Because the water is clean and pure, we have good rice. Because we have good rice, we can make great sake. Because we can drink great sake, our girls have become beautiful!”

    I really laughed out loud when a teacher from Akita told me that haha

Leave a Reply

