Happy Canada Day!

Happy Canada Day!

(Photo credit: Reddit)

It’s July 1st already?! That means I only have one month left before I leave my hometown. I can’t believe it; where did June go?!

Actually, I know where the last four days went – Mom and I spent the long weekend in New York City(!). We stayed three nights, saw three different musicals, and did so much shopping that I almost wasn’t allowed to bring all of it back through Customs – a.k.a., an amazing trip! I bought my very first real suit – a grey skirt suit from Macy’s – as well as some blouses and business slacks. I also took a lot of pictures, some of which I plan to incorporate into my self-introduction lesson (but more on that in a later entry ;)).

We got home at 4 a.m. this morning – just in time to celebrate Canada’s 146th birthday! My family had a pretty quiet Canada Day; Mom, Dad, and I BBQ’d chicken, lamb, salmon, and potatoes with salads – yum! – then went to the town fireworks. We wore red and white, waved our Canadian flags around, and enjoyed being patriotic Canadians. It will be weird not being in Canada next year on July 1st, but I plan on celebrating in Japan nonetheless – silly Canada-themed hats and all. :)

I don’t have much time to recuperate from NYC – I head off to Halifax bright and early on Friday morning for Weekend Orientation and I couldn’t be more excited! From the preliminary e-mails, it seems like the Montreal JET Desk has put together a fun, yet informative weekend for us, complete with a “unique cultural event” – whatever that might be! I can’t wait to finally meet some of the other Atlantic Canadian JETs!

34 days ’til Japan!

Leave a Reply

