Eight Weeks! … ?!

Eight weeks until Japan!!!

On the other hand, eight weeks until Japan?!

Time is a fickle thing, isn’t it? Eight weeks really isn’t that long, yet, at the same time, it feels like eight weeks is so far away.

I think the length of the entire JET application process helps to make it feel that way. I mean, really, by the time I board the plane to Japan, I will have been preparing for JET for over a year. 365+ days spent dreaming about August 4, 2013! It can make me impatient – I often find myself thinking, ‘hurry up, August 4, so I can stop doing pre-departure things and actually make the move!’

But, as excited and anxious as I am to go, I don’t want to wish my time away. I only have eight weeks to go through all of my worldly possessions, figure out how I’m going to move my entire life 10,000 km to the other side of the world, spend time with family and friends, and still enjoy the comforts of home (especially home-cooked meals – thanks, Mom!).

One thing I know for sure: these next eight weeks are going to be a whirlwind.

55 days ’til Japan!

Leave a Reply

